North American Digital Media Awards 2019

Mobile Event Menu

North American Digital Media Awards 2019

24 Jun 2019
New York
United States of America (the)





WAN-IFRA North American Digital Media Awards recognize news publishers who have adopted innovative digital media and mobile strategies to succesfully respond to today's major shifts in news and information consumption. 

Winners will be announced during the Awards ceremony on 24 June during our Digital Media North America Conference at the SUNY Global Center, in New York City.

Enter now to one or several of our 10 categories and be recognized along some of the most innovative media outlets of the news industry including: 

• Alabama Media Group

• Axios

• Guardian US

• La Presse

• Le Devoir

• Los Angeles Times

• NBC Universal

• Splinter 


• The Globe and Mail

• The Lily

• The New York Times

• The Washington Post

• And many more...

 “These awards mean a great deal to us. It is an important benchmark vis-à-vis our competition. Our focus is on innovation, so we really value comparisons with other publishers, and evaluation by industry experts is an important validation of our strategy.”

Die Welt, Axel Springer, Germany

 "Being nominated for a Digital Media Award is a great tribute to the work that we do. And to win – in a field of such talented nominees from across the World – is an honour. Awards are an important way for any team to get recognition for their efforts from industry peers, colleagues and senior bosses. These awards are a useful opportunity to connect face to face with journalists, publishers and producers from across Europe."

BBC, United Kingdom


Register your entries today!  

Key dates: 

19 April - Registration closes
26 April - Deadline to upload projects and complete participation fee
14 May - Finalists announced
24 June - Awarding ceremony during #DMNA19


 The winners of this edition will enter the annual WAN-IFRA World Digital Media Awards competition against the winners of our Digital Media Awards competitions in Africa, Asia, South Asia, Europe, Middle East and Latin America. The World Awards will be announced during WAN-IFRA's 2020 World News Media Congress.


Time to take on the world's digital news media elite!




Check out our 2018 winners here!



 The competition is open to any project published or being held between May 2018 and April 2019. Check out our rules and guidelines!


  • Best News Website or Mobile Service

  • Best in Lifestyle, Sports, Entertainment Website or Mobile Services

  • Best Use of Online Video
 (including VR)

  • Best Data Visualization

  • Best Paid Content Strategy (incl. pay wall, membership or crowd funding models)

  • Best Native Advertising / Branded Content Campaign

  • Best Digital News Start-up

  • Best in Social Media Engagement

  • Best Digital Marketing Campaign for News Brand

  • Best Digital Project to Engage Younger and/or Millennial Audiences

North American Digital Media Awards 2019