Programme | LATAM Media Leaders eSummit

Mobile Event Menu

LATAM Media Leaders eSummit

Programme | LATAM Media Leaders eSummit

Programme

Streaming schedule and structure

2-3 webinars / interactive meetings per day

Morning schedule

10:00-11:30AM CDMX/ Bogotá · 12:00-13:30PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 5:00-6:30PM Madrid

Evening schedule

3:00-4:30PM CDMX/ Bogotá · 5:00-6:30 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 10:00-11:30PM Madrid

Sessions

July 27
Monday

  • Stream IDs:
    • 9622

    10:00

    • Reader Revenue

    Accelerating reader revenue

    Location: 
    Official timetable established: Mexico City - ONLINE

    This session will provide a digital subscription overview on how the industry is pivoting, perhaps definitively, towards reader revenue. Cases in these countries, particularly reluctant to pay for online content, have applied different strategies to maximize their suscriptions strategies by creating new products, more engagement, and “churn” rates to drive growth exponentially.

    TIME: 10:00 AM CDMX/ Bogotá · 12:00 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 5:00 PM Madrid

    Moderator 

    Vocento: the definitive switch to 'reader revenue'

    In 2015, Group Vocento in Spain launched the first metered paywall in the country in one of its most successful news brands: El Correo. Five years later, they have 54,000 digital subscribers in eight of their regional papers. The key to their success is a huge investment in R&D that has enabled them to create new products and a lasting bond with their readers that have driven subscriptions. What is their next challenge? to consolidate their reader revenue strategy by adding three regional papers and its daily national, ABC.

    Speakers 

    Sell smarter: get more subscribers, earn more, reduce churn

    In 2018 a survey undertaken by Gazeta Wyborcza (Poland) among their readers, showed that only 30% of its readers were willing to pay for news. After careful analysis, they found that while the launch of special offers spurred the acquisition of new subscriptions, the churn rate was too high and it was really difficult to gain a loyal audience. In 2019, they decided to refute the myth that "you cannot sell more if prices increase", and they hit the nail on the head: the increase in their subscription prices increased the number of subscribers (more than 200,000), higher rates of recurring payments and higher ARPU.

    Speakers 

    • Director of Subscription Strategy, Gazeta Wyborcza, Poland

    Boosting usage and retention: Grupo RBS’ results on reducing churn rates

    How Brazilian Grupo RBS is managing to have one of the lowest digital subscription churn rates increasing mobile usage and reader’s engagement.

    Speakers 

    Session brought to you by:

  • 15:00

    The status of digital subscriptions in Latin America

    Location: 
    Official timetable established: Mexico City - ONLINE
    As interest in digital subscription models grows in Latin America, lessons from pioneering media companies in Brazil and Argentina who have launched paid content strategies several years ago are more valuable than ever. What lessons can be shared with local and national media outlets whose strategy is more recent or that are just starting to look into this alternative revenue stream? How have these models been adapted to the current circumstances? 

    TIME: 3:00 PM CDMX/Bogotá · 5:00 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 10:00 PM Madrid

     

    Moderator 

    Speakers 

    Session brought to you by:

July 28
Tuesday

  • 10:00

    Towards diversifying advertising revenue

    Location: 
    Official timetable established: Mexico City - ONLINE

    Despite the fact that traffic has grown exponentially for many media, this has not translated into an increase in digital advertising revenue. Advertising investment and the value of the CPM plummeted. Many media outlets have been forced to balance revenue, create new products and ad formats, and push sponsored content to overcome the difficulties they face.

    TIME: 10:00 AM CDMX/ Bogotá · 12:00 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 5:00 PM Madrid

    Moderator 

    Innovating and diversifying

    Investment in new formats has helped EL TIEMPO to create greater added value and boost digital advertising revenues. In this session Diego Vallejo will delve into what these formats are and how their value can be exploited to drive growth.

    Speakers 

    Balancing the offer, reinventing the formats

    For one of the most successful digital natives in Spain, El Confidencial, sponsored content and events represent 40% of its advertising revenue. Libe Bilbao will tell us how they have adapted to the drastic changes in the sector to get ahead.

     

    Speakers 

    Session brought to you by:

  • Stream IDs:
    • 9623

    15:00

    • Advertising and other sources of revenue

    Financing journalism

    Location: 
    Official timetable established: Mexico City - ONLINE

    Overnight, the journalism industry changed drastically. The economic crisis driven by the pandemic has been an opportunity for the media to regain the eroded trust of its readers, but it has also become a perfect storm, adding to the pre-existing structural difficulties of the media to guarantee a sustainable business model in the digital age.

    The call for help that has been launched to keep journalism alive during and after the crisis has found new funders and ideas on how to support the important mission of the media: state aid, patronage models, technology platforms. Each solution carries its own opportunities and risks.

    TIME: 3:00 PM CDMX/ Bogotá · 5:00 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 10:00 PM Madrid

    Moderator 

    • President, Press Freedom Commission, ADEPA (Argentine News Media Association), Argentina

    Speakers 

July 29
Wednesday

  • Stream IDs:
    • 9624

    10:00

    • Business Strategy

    CEO debate: ¿how can the news business overcome this crisis?

    Location: 
    Official timetable established: Mexico City - ONLINE

    As media companies move from survival mode to recovery, what challenges will they face, as they seek to develop their digital audiences, their reader revenue models and their diversification strategies? What differences arise between Latin American and Spanish markets’ impacts? How are leading journalistic brands resisting the current crisis?

    TIME: 10:00 AM CDMX/ Bogotá · 12:00 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo · 5:00 PM Madrid

    Moderator 

    Speakers 

LATAM Media Leaders eSummit

Shariff