North American Digital Media Awards 2019

Mobile Event Menu

North American Digital Media Awards 2019

24 Jun 2019
New York
United States of America (the)






These awards, presented by WAN-IFRA, the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers, recognise publishers who have adopted digital media and mobile strategies as part of their total product offering to meet the major changes in how people consume news and information today. 

The awards ceremony where winners will be announced, will take place on 24 June during our Digital Media North America Conference at the Thomson Reuters Building, Times Square, NYC.


Calling all publishers for 2019 entries! Stay tuned for the following key dates:


12 Feb - Registration opens
19 April - Registration closes
26 April - Deadline to upload projects and complete participation fee
14 May - Finalists announced
24 June - Awarding ceremony during #DMNA19


 The winners of this edition will enter the annual WAN-IFRA World Digital Media Awards competition with the winners of regional contests in Africa, Asia, South Asia, Europe, Middle East and North America. The World Awards will be delivered during WAN-IFRA's 2020 World News Media Congress.

For more information about the DMNA Conference, click here.


Time to take on the world's digital news media elite!





• Axios

• Cultura Colectiva

• Guardian US

• Los Angeles Times

• News-O-Matic


• The New York Times

• The Washington Post


They're now competing as finalists to the 2019 World Digital Media Awards

Check their winning projects here!


 “These awards mean a great deal to us. It is an important benchmark vis-à-vis our competition. Our focus is on innovation, so we really value comparisons with other publishers, and evaluation by industry experts is an important validation of our strategy.”

Die Welt, Axel Springer, Germany - 2016 World Winner and 2017 European Winner

 "Being nominated for a Digital Media Award is a great tribute to the work that we do. And to win – in a field of such talented nominees from across Europe – is an honour. Awards are an important way for any team to get recognition for their efforts from industry peers, colleagues and senior bosses. These award are a useful opportunity to connect face to face with journalists, publishers and producers from across Europe."

BBC, United Kingdom - 2014 World Winner and 2017 European Winner

 “There is some terrific digital work taking place globally. WAN-FRA’s Digital Media awards always inspire us to do better. Now our North American friends can be part of the action.”

Mario García, PhD, CEO and Founder of García Media, USA - Jury member





These awards are open to news media companies and entities affiliated with the news media industry actively operating within the region. Entries must be prepared and uploaded by the news media organisation, news media organisation representative, advertising agency, or public relations firm working on the company's behalf. International media may apply as long as it has active operations within the US and Canada.

The competition is open to any project published or being held between July 2018 and June 2019.


  • Best News Website or Mobile Service

  • Best in Lifestyle, Sports, Entertainment Website or Mobile Services

  • Best Use of Online Video
 (including VR)

  • Best Data Visualization

  • Best Paid Content Strategy (incl. pay wall, membership or crowd funding models)

  • Best Native Advertising / Branded Content Campaign

  • Best Digital News Start-up

  • Best in Social Media Engagement

  • Best Digital Marketing Campaign for News Brand

  • Best Digital Project to Engage Younger and/or Millennial Audiences

North American Digital Media Awards 2019